• RBS Six Nations
  • 25th Feb 2012
  • KO 16:00
  • Ground: Twickenham, London
  • Att: 80,764
Home team Score Away team


12 - 19


Penalty Goals Farrell (4)
Tries Williams (1)
Conversions Halfpenny (1)
Penalty Goals Halfpenny (4)


23rd February 2012, 10:32am

Geoff Parling: Has been named in the England XV

Geoff Parling: Has been named in the England XV

Interim England head coach Stuart Lancaster has made four changes to his line-up for the RBS Six Nations clash with Wales on Saturday.

As expected Geoff Parling, Ben Morgan and Lee Dickson are handed their first starts for England, while Manu Tuilagi comes into the centres.

Parling will line-up in the second row along Mouritz Botha, with Tom Palmer having been released from the training squad on Tuesday.

Scarlets No.8 Morgan and Northampton scrum-half Lee Dickson are rewarded for impressive cameos off the bench in the games against Italy and Scotland, with Phil Dowson and Ben Yongs making way.

Tuilagi's inclusion comes after Charlie Hodgson was ruled out with a finger injury - so Owen Farrell moves to fly-half.

Dowson and Youngs both dropped to the bench, where they are joined by the fit-again Courtney Lawes and Toby Flood.

Lancaster said: "It's been a good start with two wins but we've got real competition for places and Lee, Ben and Geoff deserve an opportunity to start this game.

"It means that Phil and Ben will provide a different role from the bench and it's great to have Courtney and Toby, who can also give us options in what I am sure will be a full-on encounter.

"Charlie cut his finger in training earlier in the week and needed stitches but it swelled up and there is a sprain there.

"We assessed him this morning and he cannot grip fully. Owen has trained throughout and knows our patterns and plays so we are fully confident in his ability to run the game from 10 and we are looking forward to seeing how Brad and Manu gel together in the centre.

"It's our first home game of the RBS Six Nations which we are really excited about and we are sure the crowd will get behind us just as the travelling supporters have done in Scotland and Italy.

"Playing at Twickenham makes it extra special for us and I know we will get all the encouragement we need."

England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 David Strettle, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (capt) 6 Tom Croft, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Alex Corbisiero.

Replacements: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Matt Stevens, 18 Courtney Lawes, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Mike Brown.

Sky Bet

Facebook Favourites